“What in the World?” Quiz – Week of September 5, 2016

Check your global affairs awareness with these ten questions taken from this week’s news reports.

***

***
Alternate Link to Quiz
***

Keep up with global current events by following the World Affairs Council on Twitter @TNWAC. #TNWACquiz

THE WINNER OF THE AUGUST QUIZ PRIZE

Marieta Velikova of Nashville

Congratulations

QUIZ WINNERS FROM LAST WEEK

Patrick Higgins, Nashville, TN

Patricia Miletich, Nashville, TN

Jon Gray, Franklin, TN

Marieta Velikova, Nashville, TN

Charles Bowers, Nashville, TN

Patricia Paiva, Nashville, TN

Deb Monroe, Alexandria, VA

Matt Dwyer, Nashville, TN

Hang Thai, Nashville, TN


Each week's quiz winners are entered for a monthly prize. This month's prize:

the-iran-wars-book-197x300

About "The Iran Wars" by Jay Solomon - from Amazon.com

For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East—a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran’s aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region—what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America’s interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels—military, financial, and covert.

Jay Solomon’s book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict—from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter’s masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran’s nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship.

This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower, The Iran Wars exposes the hidden history of a conflict most Americans don’t even realize is being fought, but whose outcome could have far-reaching geopolitical implications.


To get in on the quiz make sure you’re getting TNWAC emails (here’s the free subscription link: http://eepurl.com/gt6dn) and make sure you’re following @TNWAC on Twitter.

We'll post the answers and the names of the winner(s) on Wednesday afternoon

Good luck!


We need and appreciate your support of 

the World Affairs Council.

Donate_Button1

join_button


FOLLOW US ON TWITTER @TNWAC

THANKS TO THE TNWAC WEEKLY QUIZ PARTNERS

Tennessean-Logo-3

cmhof-logo-round

tnwac logo jan15 150

THANKS TO THE SPONSORS OF THE TENNESSEE

ACADEMIC WORLDQUEST PROGRAM – FEDEX

fedex-logo1

The Tennessee World Affairs Council is a nonprofit (501c3), nonpartisan educational charity based in Nashville that works to build understanding of global issues in our communities. Learn more about the Council and find how you can join, donate and volunteer at: www.TNWAC.org  — 

Join / Donate / Volunteer

tnwac logo jan15 300

Leave a Reply